Big Ten Announces Controversial Football Division Names

Comments:  | Leave A Comment

COLUMBUS, Ohio — The Big Ten Conference announced Monday that its two divisions will be called the “Legends” and “Leaders” beginning next fall.
Ohio State will be one of six schools in the Leaders division, along with Illinois, Indiana, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin.

The “Legends” division is comprised of Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern.

The divisions were created for football after Nebraska announced it was leaving the Big 12 Conference for the Big Ten.

Each school will play the other five schools within its division and will also face three teams from the other division, including one cross-division matchup guaranteed on an annual basis.

Besides Ohio State-Michigan, the other guaranteed cross-division matchups are Illinois-Northwestern, Indiana-Michigan State, Penn State-Nebraska, Purdue-Iowa and Wisconsin-Minnesota. Names for each Big Ten football division will be announced at a later date.


RELATED: Pryor Leaning Towards Returning For Senior Year

RELATED: Video Former Buckeye Maurice Clarett Featured On ESPN

Join the Conversation! Share and Discuss!

Tags: »


Leave a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 990 other followers